Defying the Flying Pests; Search for the Ultimate Fly Annihilator

It began as a gentle bothersome buzzing, a mild annoyance, a brief and momentary irritation. It grew in proportion at an alarming rate as I realized the sheer numbers of pests that began to swarm the soft chest, sweet eyes and poor sore legs of my beloved horse. I’ve never fought so actively to eliminate flies before, but then again I’ve never dealt with a horse who is so attractive to them nor one that I care personally and tremendously for. But these suckers are resilient!

Let me start this off by saying that the normal grade fly sprays do nothing for me. The concentrates do nothing, even if you mix them stronger. I’ve sprayed them on nearly every day and the most I get out of it is a nice shiny coat. That’s great that it will make my horse pretty, but I wanted a fly repellant not a beauty product…

Within moments the flies are back. Well, the definition of crazy is to keep repeating something and expecting different results, so I’m trying something new. I’ve searched several homemade fly spray remedy recipes and wrote down a list of the many ingredients.

  • Apple Cidar Vinegar/White Vinegar
  • Vodka
  • Dish Soap
  • Garlic (fed through)
  • Citronella
  • Eucalyptus
  • Lavender essential oil
  • Melaleuca essential oil
  • Peppermint oil
  • Lemongrass

And so on.

I took this list and walked around my house collecting everything I could find on the list. I got out my spray bottle and rinsed it, filled it with 20 ounces of Apple Cider Vinegar, dripped in 20 drops of Lavender and Melaleuca oil, spilled the Peppermint everywhere so I don’t know how much of that got in there but I sure smell good, added a squirt of dish soap sufficient to bathe a small horse, added garlic salt since we have no garlic and it couldn’t hurt, and shook everything up. I can’t wait to test it out tomorrow, it smells like some sort of terrorist chemical bomb or something so I’d say it should have plenty of kick to do the job. So this will be my first experimental batch. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

