The Homeopathic Horse; Dabbling in Natural Remedies for Stomach Ulcers and Laminitis

Now, don’t get your panties in a bunch; I’m not “religious” when it comes to things like homeopathy or natural barefoot trimming. These are things that I believe need to be approached based on the specific horse. I don’t like cookie cutter methods for anything, especially not training and treatment of horses. The truth is that I respect pharmaceuticals, from a distance, and believe that they definitely do have a place and purpose in our world. However, due to my own personal experiences with medicine and illness, I tend to err on the side of caution…or…natural medicine.

By the way, if you’re wondering why there are several posts from the same day, it’s because the others were posts I was constructing from my cell phone but never posted, but I wanted my record of the happenings to be as accurate as possible so I posted them separately.

Anyways, I think that’s why this particular Farrier and I got along so well from the start. Not only is she a Christian and a totally amazing person, not to mention my horses adore her which is a good enough reason for me, she also is an avid believer in treatments based on approaching the true underlying problem rather than just the symptom. In this case, the symptoms are Bubba’s ulcers and Laminitis/weak hooves, and the true underlying problem is an inadequate diet. Her approach to treating these things is very sensitive of his needs as well as my budget. She also leans more towards natural medicine.

Here are some of the things she recommended…

Licorice Tincture, no Alcohol; A Ten Day regimen, 4 droppers full morning and night for 10 days should show improvement pretty immediately. Good for intestinal healing. Make SURE you buy the “no alcohol” kind. I didn’t know I was supposed to and I bought the kind with alcohol…my horse said it was disgusting.

Slippery Elm; mucilaginous and healing on the upper digestive tract.

White Willow Bark; For the pain in his hooves, helps with joints, muscles and connective tissue, relieves pain and stiffness.

Marshmallow Root; This is a pretty commonly used remedy for stomach ulcers.

Aloe Vera; This one I was already using and she just confirmed that it’s something she’d recommend. Suggested dosage (for my horse) is 2-4 ounces twice a day.

She’ll be bringing by a mixture that should be a full scale herbal attack to help his system cope and heal. I’m pretty excited to give it a try and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

